From oil to royal: Queen’s head spotted in chorizo oil in Leeds Restaurant

A Leeds restaurant has discovered an image of the Queen’s head in chorizo oil. The uncanny likeness was discovered at the La Tasca restaurant in Leeds by regal-eyed waitress Sonia Manzi while clearing plates from a table.

The leftover oil from the traditional Spanish sausage dish formed a pattern on the plate that revealed a clear silhouette of the monarch’s head – reminiscent of a fifty pence piece. Having seen the likeness, staff at the restaurant have been speculating that it might be a sign that the Her Majesty might be rather partial to tucking in to a spot of Tapas from time to time.

Sonia Manzi, the La Tasca waitress who spotted the royal in the oil, commented:

“I was clearing the plates after a busy lunchtime service and couldn’t believe what I spotted. I’ve seen the Queen’s image a lot in the run up to the Jubilee, so as soon as I looked at the plate, her face just jumped out at me! I showed my colleagues but not all of them could see it.  After taking plenty of snaps I was sorry to give the plate to the kitchen to be washing up. I’m never going to look a plate of chorizo in the same way again!”

Reports that a further member of staff spotted a chicken croquette that looked like the Duke of Edinburgh are unconfirmed.

For more information on La Tasca, or to view the new menu please visit www.latascakitchen.co.uk

Have your view...